Mosiah 24:14

7/ 20/15
Aloha and Happy Monday! It’s been a long, sweaty week in Kentucky but it’s been great. Missions are truly so great. I remember before my mission that my circle of love was so much smaller than it is now. But here’s the thing, the more love we give, the more love we have. Love does not divide as we give it, it multiplies. I get such a cool opportunity to offer love and service to others all day here. How amazing! I love my calling. I am a representative of Jesus Christ and am striving to do all He would. It makes me smile 🙂

On Saturday we met with our investigator, Kim, and had a really good lesson. We were planning on teaching her about the Word of Wisdom but as she expressed her desires and concerns we ended up answering a lot of her questions and helping her understand how to use the Atonement in her life. She has such a strong desire to use the truths she is being blessed with. She says she is ready, she knows she has the willpower and that the Savior will help her where she falls short. This past month the ward has really been focusing on temple work and the blessings of temple worship. It has been really hard for me because I don’t get to attend the temple very often here, but it has sparked such an interest in Kim. She is so excited to partake of the blessings there. In church yesterday I think she taught us all a lesson. Someone had said that life got more difficult after her family had made it to the temple to be sealed together and it was hard to find time for the temple. Kim said, how can that be? If you have the assurance that you have made covenants how could your faith ever be weak? How could you ever forget to worship there and feel the Spirit and peace the house of the Lord has to offer you? Her yearning for the temple and its blessings is so inspiring. Even though I cannot attend while I’m serving, I can cling more to the covenant promises I have made there and find strength from them. As President Uchtdorf says, I can be grateful in my circumstances.

Stories this week… We got attacked by fleas when we were knocking on someone’s door. That was funny. Three sister missionaries swatting at their legs and shaking out their shoes. Yep.

Other news, I don’t think I had any more big injuries this week. I have been sick these past few days and finally accepted it yesterday. I really wanted to go to church, so I did that, then we came home and I slept until our dinner appointment at the Powell home, I really wanted to go there, too. Mostly because Brother Powell is an Aggie so we could talk about fun stuff. Their daughter is moving up to USU next month so keep an eye out for her!
The theme of this past week is probably remembering. Sometimes we get lost in the fog and feel like we’re back at square one, once again. But as we remember where we were and who we have always been, we can look forward with hope. As Mumford and Sons says, hold on to what you believe in the light, when the darkness has robbed you of all your sight. Remember and cling to spiritual experiences. Remember who you are and were sent here to be.
      “You are infinitely more than your limitations and afflictions.” – Jeffrey R. Holland
 
Have a happy week, know that I love you, and don’t forget to be grateful. It changes everything.
Love,
Sister Alyssa Spiteri
Leave a Reply

