Letter from Kentucky

7/13/15

Aloha!

I’m now serving in the Harmony Branch in Crestwood Kentucky! So I’m in the suburbs of Louisville right by the temple. It is so beautiful here, it’s got the rolling hills and trees and horses and Southern estates. It’s so fun because I’m serving in my trainer’s area she came from before we met last September- whoa, that was almost a year ago. So I’m meeting all the people she told me so many stories about. I’m alsooooo serving in a Three-ship again this transfer haha. I was in the only Three-ship in the mission last transfer and the only one this transfer. Maybe they just know I’m used to having 2 crazy awesome sisters. I’m serving with Sister Johnson who has been out for 3 months, and Sister Crofoot who has been out for about 4. They’re crazy fun. We live with a member, Michelle, who got off her mission in Argentina about 4 years ago. We’re a lot alike, love her. I’m also living with her dog, Prim 🙂 She’s the greatest thing. I love living with a dog again, I’ve missed it so much. Definitely a sweet tender mercy.
I feel like I’m right where I need to be. I have so many connections with everyone I meet, it’s such a small world! I love getting to know the members, branches are just the greatest. I can already tell I’m building relationships for eternity.
Something I’m working on this transfer, and the rest of forever, is my gratitude journal. I had a lot of struggles in my last area, to be honest. It was pretty tough, but faith and courage and the love of those supporting me helped me through every minute of every day. I pulled out my gratitude journal and realized that I hadn’t written in it since I left my first area, Salem. I truly believe that my struggles would have been endured much better these past 4 months had I been counting my blessings. So I am very eager to write in my gratitude journal every day and watch as it changes my very nature. And I believe that even in this past week, it has.
So I’d encourage you each to strive with me 🙂 And then share how it has been a blessing to you. Let me know if the challenge is accepted and I will follow up with you next month around my birthday.
 I love this work and I love this Gospel. I know that our Savior loves us and he doesn’t compare or compete or tell us we aren’t enough. I know that our value cannot decrease or increase. The value of anything is marked by the sacrifice made for it- an Olympic gold medal, fancy Seattle chocolate, a house- and you. Because of the sacrifice made for us by our Savior, our value is above anything. There is a relationship between love and sacrifice. We sacrifice for the things we love and we love the things we sacrifice for. I testify as a representative of Jesus Christ that He loves us and that we will feel that love as we accept His sacrifice made for us. I love you all and am so grateful for the support and encouragement you have given me. I’m grateful for your love and sacrifices. Continue to follow Him and He will lead you in the way of light and truth.
Love,
Sister Alyssa Spiteri
P.S. My new address is
5508 Park Ct
Crestwood, KY 40014
Leave a Reply

