Hastening the Work

2/8/2016

This week was transfers and I got my new companion, Sister Schultz, and I am so excited for this transfer together. I’m ready to put my heart into these last 6 weeks I have to serve in this capacity. She is amazing. This is her fourth transfer and she is on fire, just what I needed. She also loves me enough to hold my hair when I puked outside the church this week. I think I had the flu but who knows.

Last week we had dropped all of our investigators because they weren’t willing to progress so we spent this week finding wonderful, new people to teach. I love having this bold calling of testifying. We went tracting Saturday morning and found 3(!!!!!) new families to teach. They’re amazing people- and they’re married! So we’re looking forward to our return appointments with them this week on Wednesday. We also have been getting a billion referrals. A normal week is like 2 or 3, this week we got 12 media referrals. That means keep sharing the gospel online everyone, because it makes a difference!

I’ve also had some pretty good studies this week. My favorite was when I was studying about remembering. It seems that whenever someone in the scriptures gets into trouble it’s because they forgot the Lord. They forgot their testimony and all He had done for them up until this point. I was studying it in relation to my mission, to not forgot what the Lord has taught me here and also what He’s carried me through. In Alma 5:6-7 it addresses this:

6 And now behold, I say unto you, my brethren, you that belong to this church, have you sufficiently retained in remembrance the captivity of your fathers? Yea, and have you sufficiently retained in remembrance his mercy and long-suffering towards them? And moreover, have ye sufficiently retained in remembrance that he has delivered their souls from hell?
7 Behold, he changed their hearts; yea, he awakened them out of a deep sleep, and they awoke unto God. Behold, they were in the midst of darkness; nevertheless, their souls were illuminated by the light of the everlasting word; yea, they were encircled about by the bands of death, and the chains of hell, and an everlasting destruction did await them.

I just love these verses. I know that I’ve been illuminated by His word and awakened many times over. And as we remember Him in gratitude, we will see more of His hand in our lives. Ponder your blessings, write them down. They will stand as evidences of His love unto us- and to those we share them with.

This is truly the sweetest time of my mission and I’m looking forward to every day until I come home, and I look forward to those days too 🙂 Have an amazing week and don’t forget to remember the Lord has brought you to this point in your life! So take it as an opportunity.

Love,
Sister Alyssa Spiteri

Leave a Reply

